Grants & Awards

Subscribe to Grants & Awards

You are here

Dr. Parker Awarded NREF Fellowship for 2018-19

Whitney Parker, MD, PhD, Weill Cornell Medicine Neurosurgery

Dr. Parker's research will focus on the role of novel NMDA receptor variants in human brain development and epilepsy.

Dr. Rajappa Presents at Pediatric Precision Oncology Conference

Dr. Prajwal Rajappa, Precision Medicine Fellow in Dr. Jeffrey Greenfield’s pediatric brain tumor research lab at Weill Cornell Medicine

The Pediatric Precision Medicine Fellow presented “Precision Sequencing Algorithm for Pediatric Neuro-Oncology”

Drs. Dinkin and Patsalides Awarded Best Original Contribution by the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society

Best Original Contribution by the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society

The team evaluated the safety and efficacy of stenting in patients with venous sinus stenosis, a narrowing of the veins in the brain.

Dr. Cisse Named As Winner of NINDS-CNS Getch Scholar Award

Dr. Babacar Cisse

The award was established in 2015 to support the research efforts of promising neurosurgeon-scientists.

Neurosurgery Resident Dr. Brenton Pennicooke Awarded Inaugural Michael L.J. Apuzzo Resident Literature Award for Creativity and Innovation

Weill Cornell Medicine Neurosurgical Chief Resident Dr. Brenton Pennicooke

The new award recognizes original work by a Weill Cornell Medicine resident in neurological surgery in laboratory or clinical research.

The Michael L. J. Apuzzo Resident Literature Award for Creativity and Innovation

Michael L. J. Apuzzo, M.D., Adjunct Professor and Senior Consultant at Weill Cornell Medicine’s Department of Neurological Surgery

Established 2017
Weill Cornell Medical College

Chairman Philip E. Stieg and the Department of Neurological Surgery at the Weill Cornell Medical College have established the Michael L. J. Apuzzo Resident Literature Award for Creativity and Innovation for contributions to the peer-reviewed medical literature.

Dr. Härtl Study on MIS Decompression Outcomes Named CNS Paper of the Year

Minimally invasive laminectory using “over the top” decompression with tubular retractor system (left) vs traditional open laminectomy technique.

The minimally invasive option resulted in lower reoperation and fusion rates, less slip progression, and greater patient satisfaction than open surgery.

Dr. Ramakrishna Awarded Healthcare Leadership Fellowship

Dr. Rohan Ramakrishna of Weill Cornell Medicine

He is one of seven young physicians selected for the program, which fosters professional development and leadership.

Weill Cornell Medicine Brain and Spine Center Team Contribute to AANS/CNS Joint Section 2017

AANS/CNS Joint Section 2017

The experts of the Weill Cornell Medicine Brain and Spine Center made a significant contribution to this year’s meeting of the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves, held last month in Las Vegas. Our faculty members directed and lectured at courses and moderated panel discussions, and several of our residents and a past fellow presented, spoke, and won awards for their work.

Dr. Marongiu Selected for NY Academy of Sciences Interstellar Initiative

Roberta Marongiu, Ph.D.

The program cultivates and mentors promising young investigators in the fields of cancer, regenerative medicine, and neuroscience research.

Raymond Chang Wins ABTA Award for Summer Sprint Project

Raymond Chang Wins ABTA Award for Summer Sprint

Raymond Chang, a medical student who participated in the Children’s Brain Tumor Project “summer sprint” in 2016, has been named winner of the American Brain Tumor Association’s Lucien Rubinstein Award.

Dr. Härtl Wins AOSpine’s Regional Educator of the Year Award

Michael Grevitt presents the AOSpine Regional Educator of the Year Award to Dr. Roger Härtl in Davos, Switzerland.

Dr. Härtl was honored by the global spine society for his international leadership role in educating neurosurgeons in minimally invasive spinal surgery (MIS) techniques.

Dr. Hussain Wins Charlie Kuntz Scholar Award

Ibrahim Hussain, M.D.

Fourth-year resident Ibrahim Hussain, M.D., has been named one of 2017’s Charlie Kuntz Scholar Award winners.  This prestigious award is given each year to the top 30 neurosurgical residents or fellows for outstanding laboratory or clinical research on spinal disorders. Dr. Hussain won the award for his oral paper presentation, based on work he's done with Dr. Ilya Laufer and Dr.

Dr. Moussazadeh Wins Distinguished Housestaff Award

Dr. Nelson Moussazadeh

Dr. Nelson Moussazadeh, chief resident in neurological surgery, was honored with a 2016 Distinguished Housestaff Award by the NewYork Weill Cornell Medical Center Alumni Council. The award is presented to one member of each department for all-around excellence.

Dr. Ramakrishna Named Alvina and Willis Murphy Assistant Professor

Dr. Rohan Ramakrishna

The endowed professorship was created to support a promising neurosurgeon early in his or her career

Medical Student Christopher Marnell Wins Summer NREF Fellowship

Weill Cornell Medical Student Christopher Marnell

The first-year med student will work with Dr. Souweidane on his clinical trial using CED against DIPG

Dr. Pennicooke Wins at World Forum for Spine Research in Dubai

Brenton Pennicooke, MD

The fourth-year resident won Best Oral Presentation for “Annular Repair Using High-density Collagen Gel with Riboflavin Crosslinkage: Preliminary results in an in vivo ovine model”

Dr. Navarro-Ramirez Awarded Best Basic Research Oral Presentation at AO Spine Fellows Forum

Dr. Rodrigo Navarro-Ramirez (left) receives the award for Best Basic Research Oral Presentation from Dr. Michael Fehlings, president of AO Spine North America

The fellow won for his abstract on biological disc replacement in a canine model

St. Baldrick’s Awards Summer Fellowship to Weill Cornell

Raymond Chang and Emilie George, the 2016 St. Baldrick's Summer Fellows

Emilie George and Raymond Chang will test new drugs against gliomatosis cerebri and DIPG.

Dr. Navarro-Ramirez Chosen to Present at AOSNA Fellows Forum

Dr. Rodrigo Navarro-Ramirez, Weill Cornell Brain and Spine Center

Dr. Rodrigo Navarro-Ramirez, a research fellow on Dr. Roger Härtl’s team, has been invited to present his abstract, “Total disc replacement using tissue-engineered intervertebral discs: In vivo outcome in a canine model,” at the 2016 meeting of the AOSpine North America (AOSNA) Fellows Forum. The forum, Advancing Spine Care Worldwide, will be held in Banff Springs, Alberta, from March 31 to April 1, 2016.  The AOSNA Fellowship Committee scores each abstract submitted, and the 10 highest scoring abstracts are selected for podium presentations at the forum.



Subscribe to Grants & Awards